Snoopy & Woodstock Vinylmation

It´s time for a new #VinylmationMonday.

This week we will be celebrating Thanksgiving, so I wanted to do something related to this american holiday. I´m mexican and I never really celebrated this day in my country, so I´m very excited to start a new tradition with my husband here in the US, my new home!

Thinking about Thanksgiving, the first things that come to my mind are turkey, indians, pilgrims, pumpkings, corn and leaves… nothing very original, later I remembered about the beautiful tradition of the “Macy´s Thanksgiving Day Parade”, so I decide to make a Vinylmation of one of the parade balloons, but now the question was ….Which character would be good for this?

I thought about Mickey Mouse, but I made him last week. I was trying to decide (hundreds of cool characters for this), when I went to the movies to watch “The Peanuts Movie” and after that, I had the idea to make the Snoopy balloon.

02 Snoopy

 

I wanted to do something original but at the same time something similar to the Snoopy balloons from the parade, so I was influenced by these two diferent Snoopys and I decided to add Woodstock too!

snoopy balloons

I tried to make the characters very simple with respect to the original look given by Charles Schulz.

Snoopy x 4

A little history…

The parade started in 1924 in New York, tons of performers, floats and animals from the Zoo participated in it. In 1927 they started to use big balloons shaped like animals made by Goodyear replacing the live animals and in that year “Felix the cat” made his debut! Originally at the end of the parade the ballons were released into the sky!

Mickey Mouse made his debut in 1934, and Snoopy made his as “Astronaut Snoopy” in 1972.

balloons

This year  will be the 89st anniversary of the”Macy´s Thanksgiving Day Parade”

2015_Macys_Thanksgiving_Day_Parade_poster

Snoopy 2

Snoopy is a beloved character who is part of “Peanuts”, he was born in October 4th 1950

“Snoopy’s whole personality is a little bittersweet. But he’s a very strong character. He can win or lose, be a disaster, a hero, or anything, and yet it all works out. I like the fact that when he’s in real trouble, he can retreat into a fantasy and thereby escape.” (Charles Schulz)

Snoopy 4

Here it is a video where you can see different ballons from such an amazing parade!

Snoopy 3

I hope you like it and Happpy Thanksgiving!

Love,

 blue-circle-2017
Macy´s Thanksgiving Day Parade is a TM of Macy´s Co.
Snoopy, Woodstock and Peanuts are TM of Peanuts from Charles Schulz
Mickey Mouse and Vinylmation are TM of The Walt Disney Company
Leave a Reply

